ACADEMIC PROGRAMS COURSES & INSTRUCTION STUDENTS FACULTY & STAFF NEWS & EVENTS RESOURCES FRIENDS OF THE DEPARTMENT
FACULTY LECTURERS STAFF AND COORDINATORS    TEACHING ASSOCIATES  FACULTY PHOTOS
 
DEPARTMENT STAFF AND COORDINATORS
Position Name Phone and
Voice Mail
Email Office
Location
Chair Prof. Bradley Jackson (408) 924-5100 jackson@math.sjsu.edu MH 308
Vice Chair Prof. Marilyn Blockus (408) 924-5115 blockus@math.sjsu.edu MH 311
Office Staff Renee Paris (408) 924-5172 paris@math.sjsu.edu MH 308
Debbie Cortez (408) 924-5101 cortez@math.sjsu.edu MH 308
Office Assistants  
 
(408) 924-5100 info@math.sjsu.edu MH 308
Undergraduate Coordinator Prof. Marilyn Blockus (408) 924-5115 blockus@math.sjsu.edu MH 311
Graduate Coordinator Prof. Richard Kubelka (408) 924-5132 kubelka@math.sjsu.edu MH 314
CAMCOS Director Prof. Tim Hsu (408) 924-5071 hsu@math.sjsu.edu MH 419
Calculus Coordinator Debbie Cortez (408) 924-5101 calculus@math.sjsu.edu MH 308
Developmental Mathematics & EO 665 Coordinator Susan McClory (408) 924-5070 Susan.McClory@sjsu.edu MH 311
TA Supervisor Prof. Mohammad Saleem (408) 924-5141 saleem@math.sjsu.edu MH 313
 
FACULTY    **Some instructors are willing to schedule appointments outside of their office hours. Contact your instructor if you would like to make an appointment.**
Name Research Interests Email Phone (408) Office Location Office Hours
Spring 2009

 

Roger Alperin Algebra, Number Theory, and Geometry alperin@math.sjsu.edu 924-5066 DH 239 ON LEAVE
Joanne Becker Mathematics Education becker@math.sjsu.edu 924-5112 MH 318B ON LEAVE
Trisha Bergthold Mathematics Education bergthold@math.sjsu.edu 924-5438 MH 415  
Marilyn Blockus Algebraic Topology blockus@math.sjsu.edu 924-5115 MH 311  
Natasha Bozovic Theory of Algorithms, Group Theory, Foundations of Mathematics, Mathematical Physics bozovic@math.sjsu.edu 924-5086 MH 318A  
Martina Bremer  Statistics and Bioinformatics bremer@math.sjsu.edu 924-1396 DH 215  
Maria (Bem) Cayco Numerical Partial Differential Equations, Finite Element Methods cayco@math.sjsu.edu 924-5091 DH 339  
Steven Crunk Statistics crunk@math.sjsu.edu 924-5157 MH 414  
Jane Day Linear Algebra day@math.sjsu.edu 924-5119 MH 317  
Roger Dodd Integrable Equations, Dynamical Systems, General Relativity dodd@math.sjsu.edu 924-1397 DH 239  
Leslie Foster Numerical Analysis, Scientific Computation foster@math.sjsu.edu 924-5123 MH 312  
Daniel Goldston Number Theory goldston@math.sjsu.edu 924-5125 MH 315  
Dimitar Grantcharov Lie Algebras, Superalgebras, Geometric Quantization grantcharov@math.sjsu.edu 924-5175 MH 312 ON LEAVE
Timothy Hsu Algebra, Combinatorics hsu@math.sjsu.edu 924-5071 MH 419  
Bradley Jackson Graph Theory, Combinatorics, Analysis of Algorithms jackson@math.sjsu.edu 924-5100 MH 308  
Hidefumi Katsuura Topology katsuura@math.sjsu.edu 924-5130 MH 415  
Kenneth Kellum Real Analysis, Point-Set Toplogy kellum@math.sjsu.edu 924-1395 DH 215  
Plamen Koev Numerical Linear Algebra, Random Matrix Theory koev@math.sjsu.edu 924-5175 MH 312  
Richard Kubelka Algebraic Topology, Number Theory, Statistics kubelka@math.sjsu.edu 924-5132 MH 314  
Bee Leng Lee Statistics, Semiparametric Inference, Survival Analysis lee@math.sjsu.edu 924-5099 MH 414  
Jared Maruskin Dynamical Systems, Geometric Mechanics maruskin@math.sjsu.edu 924-5092 MH 310  
Ho Kuen Ng  Algebra, Operations Research, Actuarial Science ng@math.sjsu.edu 924-5138 MH 317  
Samih Obaid Elasticity Theory, Fluid Mechanics, Integral Equations, Complex Analysis, Fibonacci Sequence obaid@math.sjsu.edu 924-5140 MH 412  
Barbara Pence Mathematics Education pence@math.sjsu.edu 924-5142 MH 419 ON LEAVE
Brian Peterson Algebra, Number Theory peterson@math.sjsu.edu 924-5143 MH 417  
Richard Pfiefer Geometry, Convexity and Related Inequalities pfiefer@math.sjsu.edu 924-5144 MH 316  
Ferdinand Rivera Mathematics Education, Cultural Studies rivera@math.sjsu.edu 924-5170 DH 339  
Cheryl Roddick Mathematics Education roddick@math.sjsu.edu 924-5074 MH 313  
Mohammad Saleem Numerical Analysis, Mathematical Fluid Dynamics,      Computational Linear Algebra, Mathematical Modeling saleem@math.sjsu.edu 924-5141 MH 313  
Edward Schmeichel Combinatorial Mathematics, Computational Complexity schmeichel@math.sjsu.edu 924-5148 MH 310  
Tatiana Shubin Number Theory, Algebra, Finite Geometries, Combinatorics shubin@math.sjsu.edu 924-5146 MH 314  
Slobodan Simic Dynamical Systems, Geometric Control Theory, Subriemannian Geometry simic@math.sjsu.edu 924-7485 MH 318A  
Julie Sliva Spitzer Mathematics Education sliva@math.sjsu.edu 924-5120 MH 315  
Wasin So Linear Algebra so@math.sjsu.edu 924-5155 MH 418  
Maurice Stanley Mathematical Logic stanley@math.sjsu.edu 924-5154 MH 215  
Linda Valdes Graph Theory, Computer Algorithms In Graph Theory valdes@math.sjsu.edu 924-5131 MH 417  
           
 
LECTURERS    **Some instructors are willing to schedule appointments outside of their office hours. Contact your instructor if you would like to make an appointment.**
 
Name
(We are in the process of updating this list)
Email Phone (408) Office Location Office Hours
Spring 2009
Sundararajan Arabhi arabhi@math.sjsu.edu 924-5069 DH 538  
Shabeena Ahmed ahmed@math.sjsu.edu 924-5129 MH 316  
Medha Amod  Bodas bodas@math.sjsu.edu 924-5286 DH 209  
Carl  Bugarin bugarin@math.sjsu.edu 924-5229 SCI 321A  
Kenneth  Christie kanda3@earthlink.net 924-5286 DH 209  
Sandy DeSousa desousa@math.sjsu.edu 924-5069 DH 538  
Judy Hilliard Judith.Hilliard@sjsu.edu 924-2534 SSC 611  
Timothy Fish tfish@math.sjsu.edu Email DH 209  
Shweta Gupta gupta@math.sjsu.edu 924-5229 SCI 321A  
Michael  Hurley hurley@math.sjsu.edu 924-5229 SCI 321A  
Tom  Huynh huynh@math.sjsu.edu 924-5286 DH 209  
Olga Kovaleva kovaleva@math.sjsu.edu 924-7486 MH 439 MTTR 11:30 - 12:30 or by appointment
Richard Low low@math.sjsu.edu 924-7488 MH 439  
James Lum lum@math.sjsu.edu 924-5068 DH 538  
Faun Maddux mathmaddux@sbcglobal.net 924-5286 DH 209  
Susan McClory Susan.McClory@sjsu.edu 924-5070 MH 311  
Jennifer Mogel mogel@math.sjsu.edu 924-5069 DH 538  
Anh Nguyen anhminh_nguyen@yahoo.com 924-5069 DH 538  
TuAnh G. Nguyen thaytu99@yahoo.com 924-5286 DH 209  
Viet Nguyen viethgng@yahoo.com 924-5069 DH 538  
Christine Robles robles@math.sjsu.edu 924-5285 DH 209   
Linda Roper roper@math.sjsu.edu 924-2560 SCI 321A  
Lucian Sega sega@math.sjsu.edu 924-5175 MH 312  
Timothy Smith smith@math.sjsu.edu 924-5068 DH 538  
Mark St. John stjohn@math.sjsu.edu 924-5285 DH 209  
Anna Strong strong@math.sjsu.edu 924-5069 DH 538  
Padma Tanniru padma@math.sjsu.edu 924-7484 MH 439  
Afshin Tiraie tiraie@math.sjsu.edu 924-5158 MH 217  
Angela Tran angelahtran@yahoo.com 924-5285 DH 209  
Quang Tran quangvtran@hotmail.com 924-5285 DH 209  
Jeff Trubey trubey@math.sjsu.edu 924-5285 DH 209  
Misako Van Der Poel vanderpoel@math.sjsu.edu 924-7487 MH 439  
Michael Vartanian vartanian@math.sjsu.edu 924-5229 SCI 321A  
Diane Wilmot Wilmot@math.sjsu.edu 924-5229 SCI 321A  
Eva Zabric zabric@math.sjsu.edu 924-7489 MH 439  
Mokhtar Zoubeidi zoubeidimo@juno.com 924-5285 DH 209  
         
         
 
TEACHING ASSOCIATES
Name
(We are in the process of updating this list)
Email Phone (408) Office Location Office Hours
Spring 2009
Anita Chinthalapati  chinthalapati@math.sjsu.edu 924-5229 SCI 321A  
Ryan Flarity  flarity@math.sjsu.edu 924-5229 SCI 321A  
Wilson Florero  florero@math.sjsu.edu 924-5229 SCI 321A  
Abera Jiru  jiru@math.sjsu.edu 924-5229 SCI 321A  
Jason Smith  jsmith@math.sjsu.edu 924-5229 SCI 321A  
Shabeena Ahmed ahmed@math.sjsu.edu 924-5129 MH 316  
Talebi, Talebi talebi@math.sjsu.edu 924-5286 DH209  
Michael Vartanian  vartanian@math.sjsu.edu 924-5229 SCI 321A  
Simon Ward  ward@math.sjsu.edu 924-5229 SCI 321A  
Rachel Zadok  zadok@math.sjsu.edu 924-5229 SCI 321A  
Genti Zaimi zaimi@math.sjsu.edu 924-5229 SCI 321A  
 
 
 

DEPARTMENT OF MATHEMATICS  •  SAN JOSE STATE UNIVERSITY  •  ONE WASHINGTON SQUARE  •  SAN JOSE, CA  •  95192-0103
(408)  924-5100
  •  FAX  (408)  924-5080  •  info@math.sjsu.edu

webmaster@math.sjsu.edu
updated 31 January, 2008