SJSU Math/Stats Colloquium, Fall 2017-2018

Department of Mathematics and Statistics

San José State University

Unless otherwise indicated, on colloquium days (Wednesdays unless otherwise noted):

Date Speaker Title (click links for abstracts)
Wed Aug 30 SPECIAL EVENT Welcome to the major in math/stats at SJSU
Wed Sep 06 Special EO 1110 dept meeting
Wed Sep 13 Graduate school workshop
Mon Sep 18 Dept meeting Special guest: Joanne Wright, Faculty Affairs, on scheduling
Wed Sep 20 Deanna Needell, UCLA (visiting MSRI) Simple Classification using Binary Data
Fri Sep 22 Dept meeting CANCELLED
Wed Sep 27 Abel Rodriguez, UC Santa Cruz Spherical Factor Analysis for Binary Data: A Look at the Conservative Revolt in the House
Mon Oct 02 Dept meeting
Wed Oct 04 Tatiana Shubin, SJSU The Alliance of Indigenous Math Circles
Wed Oct 11 Jordan Schettler, SJSU The Riemann Zeta Function and Non-Standard Analysis
Mon Oct 16 Dept meeting
Wed Oct 18 Josephine Yu, Georgia Tech (visiting MSRI) Solving polynomial equations
Wed Oct 25 Jesus Oliver, CSU East Bay The Wave Equation on Black Hole Spacetimes
Wed Nov 01 Robin Wilson, Cal Poly Pomona (visiting Pomona College) Symmetries of spatial embeddings of the Heawood graph
Wed Nov 08 Francis Su, Harvey Mudd College (visiting MSRI) Combinatorial Fixed Point Theorems
Wed Nov 15 Dongwook Lee, UC Santa Cruz New High-order Methods Using Gaussian Processes for CFD
Wed Nov 22 NO COLLOQUIUM Happy Thanksgiving!
Wed Nov 29 Chi-Kwong Li, College of William and Mary Matrix Problems in Quantum Information Science
Wed Dec 06 Rekha R. Thomas, U. Washington (visiting MSRI) TBA

See here for more about the SJSU Math/Stats Colloquium.



Useful links: