SJSU Math/Stats Colloquium, Spring 2015-2016

Department of Mathematics and Statistics

San José State University

Unless otherwise indicated, on colloquium days (Wednesdays unless otherwise noted):

Date Speaker Title (click links for abstracts)
Thu Jan 28 Job candidate talk, 3:00pm, MH320 Topic: Numerical analysis (Mathematical electrodynamics)
Fri Jan 29 Job candidate talk, 10:30am, MH320 Topic: Applied discrete math (Graph theory)
Mon Feb 01 Job candidate talk, 3:00pm, MH320 Topic: Statistics (Stochastic processes)
Tue Feb 02 Job candidate talk, 3:00pm, MH320 Topic: Applied discrete math (Mathematical algorithms)
Wed Feb 03 Job candidate talk, 3:00pm, MH320 Topic: Numerical analysis (Partial differential equations)
Thu Feb 04 Job candidate talk, 3:00pm, MH320 Topic: Applied discrete math (Combinatorics)
Fri Feb 05 TALK CANCELLED
Mon Feb 08 Job candidate talk Topic: Applied discrete math (Combinatorics)
Tue Feb 09 Job candidate talk Topic: Statistics (Machine learning)
Mon Feb 15 Job candidate talk Topic: Mathematics (Homological algebra)
Wed Feb 17 Job candidate talk Topic: Statistics (Cluster analysis)
Thu Feb 18 Job candidate talk Topic: Math education (Teaching calculus)
Wed Feb 24 NO COLLOQUIUM
MON FEB 29 DEPARTMENT MEETING 3-4:15pm, MH320
Wed Mar 02 NO COLLOQUIUM
Wed Mar 09 Carolyn Gordon, Dartmouth Coll. You can't hear the shape of a drum
Wed Mar 16 Dashiell Fryer, SJSU Instability in Simple Decision Schemes
Wed Mar 23 NO COLLOQUIUM
Wed Mar 30 NO COLLOQUIUM SPRING BREAK
Wed Apr 06 DEPARTMENT MEETING 3-4:15pm, MH320
Mon Mar 11 SPECIAL EVENT Math/Stats Career Day: Business and Industry
Wed Apr 13 Hidefumi Katsuura, SJSU Cosmic Transition from the Earth to the Sun-Centered Universe
Mon Apr 18 DEPARTMENT MEETING 3-4:15pm, MH320
Wed Apr 20 Nicolette Meshkat, Santa Clara Univ. Algebraic Approaches to Solving the Structural Identifiability Problem in Systems Biology
Mon Apr 25 SPECIAL EVENT Math/Stats Career Day: Careers in teaching
Wed Apr 27 Ellen Veomett, St. Mary's Coll. of California Coloring Geometrically Defined Graphs
Mon May 02 DEPARTMENT MEETING 3-4:15pm, MH320
Wed May 04 Nida Kazi Obatake, SJSU Rat GPS: Drawing Place Field Diagrams of Neural Codes
Wed May 11 Slobodan Simic, SJSU Topology and Physics

See here for more about the SJSU Math/Stats Colloquium.



Useful links: