Abstract algebra I (Math 128A), Fall 2010

MacQuarrie Hall 235, MW 10:30-11:45am (Sec 01, code 40847)

Last update of this page: Thu Jan 27, 2011

Announcements:

Administrative handouts:

Course greensheet, Information sheet.

Course notes:

Course mechanics: Homework in Math 128A, Writing proofs.

Course content: Axioms for groups and rings, Cayley tables for D6.

Patterns for: D4 calculators (squares), D5 calculators (pentagons), D6 calculators (hexagons).

Also, check out Gallian's website, with links to useful things like online flash cards for definitions (hard copy version).

Topics for exams:

Exam 1, Exam 2, Exam 3, Final exam.

Sample exams:

Exam 1, Exam 2, Exam 3, Final exam.

Problem sets:

Click on the number or "See handout" of any highlighted problem set to download it. (Files are in PDF format, which can be read by the free Adobe Acrobat program.)

HW Outline due Due date Last revision due Problems Outline answers
PS01 Mon Aug 30 Wed Sep 01 Mon Sep 20 See handout (CORRECTED AUG 31) Complete model outline
PS02 Wed Sep 08 Mon Sep 13 Mon Oct 18 See handout (CORRECTED SEP 07) Partial outline
PS03 Wed Sep 15 Mon Sep 20 Mon Oct 18 See handout Partial outline
PS04 Wed Sep 29 Mon Oct 04 Mon Oct 18 See handout (CORRECTED SEP 28) Partial outline
PS05 Wed Oct 06 Mon Oct 11 Mon Nov 15 See handout Partial outline (CORRECTED OCT 08)
PS06 Wed Oct 13 Mon Oct 18 Mon Nov 15 See handout Partial outline
PS07 Wed Oct 27 Mon Nov 01 WED DEC 08 (changed) See handout Partial outline
PS08 Wed Nov 03 Mon Nov 08 Wed Dec 08 See handout (CORRECTED OCT 28) Partial outline
PS09 Wed Nov 10 Mon Nov 15 Mon Dec 13 See handout (CORRECTED NOV 04) Partial outline
PS10 Wed Nov 24 Mon Nov 29 Mon Dec 13 See handout Partial outline
PS11 Wed Dec 01 Mon Dec 06 Mon Dec 13 See handout Partial outline

Reading assigned in course:

Contemporary Abstract Algebra, Gallian: Chapters 0, 1-4, 5 (skip puzzles, checksum), 6-8, 9-11, 12-14.

Proof handout: Parts I-II.

Other useful links: